I can’t believe I missed this. Although I shouldn’t be surprised, I didn’t have Gary Kemble’s blog in Google Reader. I hardly ever remember to visit friends’ websites so it’s always best when they’ve got a blog or something I can subscribe to. I fixed that now.

Anyway, Gary linked to World War 1: Experiences of an English Soldier on his blog a while back. It’s letters and postcards between an English soldier and his family during the first World War, posted exactly 90 years after they were written.

We are not doing so bad for food out here it would be better if we got paid more regular we have only drawn ten lires in a month that is equal to five shillings in English money, so I think we shall have a bit to our credit, we get plenty of fruit out here oranges and apples etc. It will be Willie’s birthday this month 21th but I shall not be able to send him anything. We see some fine scenery out here we are quite close to the mountains some of these take about five hours to climb and they are not the highest. it is different to flanders being out here.

When I was about 14 I remember seeing Ken Burns’ The Civil War. The pieces I loved best were the letters and journal entries by regular soldiers and townspeople. They were always simple and honest, but incredibly emotional, perhaps because of their simplicity and honesty.

I can’t wait for the rest of Harry’s letters.

