//flickr.com/photos/jhoweaa/327651705/When I was in senior high school I used to hang out at the State Library a lot of weekends. Ostensibly this was to do “research” on my modern history assignments, but in reality there was a pretty buzzy (if geeky) social scene happening there among teenagers. It warms the cockles, therefore, to see that Swansea Library in the UK is now running monthly singles nights.

It might seem a little dorky but in truth I think it’s really special. Before I met my husband (at the World Science Fiction Convention in Melbourne – most creative jibe wins a prize) I used to ponder the conundrum of how to meet prospective partners – since I’ve mostly worked in small teams, it was just a little incestuous considering work colleagues and there was no way I was hanging out in pubs and nightclubs. At the library at least there’s a higher likelihood you’ll meet a book lover and maybe even one who likes your fave genre! So don your pink button and head down to your local library, join a book club even, you never know who you might meet…

